A Letter

In my recent reading, I found it wildly comforting how these passages of Scripture flow like a love letter from God. I hope this blesses me as much as it does you. 

My child,

Please cast all of your cares, anxieties, worries, and concerns, once and for all, on Me, for I care about you with the deepest affection, and I watch over you very carefully. You are my chosen child. You are royalty, a holy leader, and, most importantly, my prized possession.

‭‭I see how you treat your family. You wouldn’t deceive your child by giving them a stone if they asked for bread. Neither would I. Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone in my family who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

Remember that in all things, I work for the good of those who love me and who have been called according to my purpose. You are my child, in whom I am well pleased.

Draw close to me, and keep up the good work. 

Love, 
God 

Scripture references: 1 Peter: 6-8, ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭2‬:‭9‬-‭10, Matthew 7:9, Matthew 7:7-8, Romans 8:28, James 4:8, Philippians 1:6

Published by Shawn McCarthy

While serving as the Weekend Experience Pastor at Seacoast Church, I felt God prompting me to share the moments when He would speak His truth into my life through scripture in a way that made sense to me, giving me tangible ways to learn, grow and lead. These promptings turned into weekly emails that I would send my small groups and volunteer teams. I found myself enjoying the process of digging deeper into God’s Word, being stretched by the writing process, and encouraging others in the faith. My lovely wife, Anna, challenged me to begin this blog, so these moments that I have come to call, my “Red-Letter Moments,” can find a home. My prayer is that you will find hope, comfort, and inspiration here, and above all, you will come to know that the God of the universe loves you and desires a personal relationship with you.”

Leave a comment