The Jersey

I often define who I am by how I am feeling. Most days, like many of us, I feel weary and burdened, mixed in with sporadic glimmers of joy and laughter.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

“Yoke” is not a word I use often, and it looks weird when I read that scripture. But, recently, I’ve been watching Ted Lasso, and now in the final season, I have a renewed sense of teamwork and the importance of training and coaching. So, as odd as it may sound, I re-read that scripture and replaced “yoke” with the word “jersey.”

“For my jersey is easy and my burden is light.” Shawn 11:30

It’s like God is saying, “Hey! I choose you. Play for me. Wear my jersey with pride. I have the best trainers(care), coaches (wisdom), and PT (restoration) people! You are mine. Let’s go!

When I wear God’s jersey, it becomes less of me feeling defeated and wondering what I can do by myself and all about what we can do together. Because who I am becomes defined by whose I am!

We will do this together!
In His service and at yours!
~Shawn

Published by Shawn McCarthy

While serving as the Weekend Experience Pastor at Seacoast Church, I felt God prompting me to share the moments when He would speak His truth into my life through scripture in a way that made sense to me, giving me tangible ways to learn, grow and lead. These promptings turned into weekly emails that I would send my small groups and volunteer teams. I found myself enjoying the process of digging deeper into God’s Word, being stretched by the writing process, and encouraging others in the faith. My lovely wife, Anna, challenged me to begin this blog, so these moments that I have come to call, my “Red-Letter Moments,” can find a home. My prayer is that you will find hope, comfort, and inspiration here, and above all, you will come to know that the God of the universe loves you and desires a personal relationship with you.”

One thought on “The Jersey

  1. Personally, I disagree wth you about feeling weary and burdened, when I get up in thermorning. I’m so happy to be alive and be able to thank God that another one of His days lies before me. Perhaps you may want to revisse your thoughts about yourself in the morning and turn to Him to set your mind. Thoughts of God do replace downers. Try to rid yourself of debilitating thoughts, and realize you are so fortunate to be surrounded by all God’s gifts!

    Like

Leave a comment